Thu 18.7.2024 at 21:00
The Deer’s Cry – Vox Clamantis

Tickets € 45 / 35 / 15
Pensioners, unemployed € 42 / 32 / 15
Students and children under 18 € 15

Tickets for sale on and at the doors 1,5h before the concert

Buy tickets

VOX CLAMANTIS is a Grammy-winning Estonian vocal ensemble consisting of fourteen singers who share a passion for Gregorian chant, early polyphony, and contemporary music. Founded in 1996 by conductor Jaan-Eik Tulve, the ensemble has received praise from both critics and audiences for its unique sound and meaningful interpretations.

The roots of the ensemble’s musical thinking lie deep in the tradition of old European music, but the performance of Baltic contemporary music is also a core theme in Vox Clamantis’s repertoire. One of the most important composers of our time, Arvo Pärt, has composed several works for Vox Clamantis to premiere. Over the years, Helena Tulve has become one of Vox Clamantis’s resident composers, and her distinctive colorful musical language has developed alongside the ensemble.

The program of THE DEER’S CRY concert combines works by Estonian composers from the 19th and 20th centuries, including Cyrillus Kreek, Mart Saar, Arvo Pärt, and Helena Tulve.

The concert begins with Gregorian chant, leading us into a leisurely, calming, perhaps even meditative experience in a medieval stone church. Arvo Pärt’s seemingly simple but layered works are emotionally rewarding. Cyrillus Kreek and Mart Saar were contemporaries who shared an interest in Estonian folk songs – their works are often based on traditional melodies. Cyrillus Kreek focused on sacred themes in his compositions, while Mart Saar drew inspiration from nature texts and expressionist poetry. Both composers have a unique sense of harmony.

Espoo Cathedral
Kirkkopuisto 5, 02770 Espoo


Gregorian antiphon – Mandatum novum 

Cyrillus Kreek (1889-1962) – Song of David No. 121. The Sun Shall not Smite Thee 

Mart Saar (1882-1963) – How It Happened 

Arvo Pärt (1935-) – O Holy Father Nicolas 

Cyrillus KreekFrom Heaven Above to Earth I Come 

Helena Tulve (1972-) – Gloria 

Mart Saar – You Went Too Far 

Arvo Pärt – Zwei beter 

Mart SaarFallow (Sööt)  

Arvo Pärt – Nunc dimittis  

Cyrillus KreekBy the Rivers of Babylon 

Cyrillus Kreek – Do the Birds Worry? 

Arvo Pärt – The Deer’s Cry 

Mart Saar – Oak-Tree, Why Are You Crying? 

Arvo Pärt – And I Heard the Voice