Thu 13.7.2023 at 21:00
Kentala Consort – Vivaldi’s Four Seasons

Tickets € 45 / 35 / 15
Pensioners, unemployed and conscripts €42 / 32 
Students and children under 18 €15 
+ booking fee (from €1,50 / booking, 

Buy tickets

Kreeta-Maria Kentala, violin
Kaisa Ruotsalainen, violin
Alina Järvelä, violin
Laura Kajander, viol
Pekkala, cello
Pontus Grans, bass
Eero Palviainen, archlute, baroque guitar
Tea Polso, harpsichord 

Vivaldi’s famous concerto series Four Seasons is one of the most beloved works of classical music around the world. At the Organ Night and Aria Festival, this vivacious composition is performed by a virtuoso chamber ensemble, Kentala Consort.  

The changing of seasons is delicately composed into the concertos: from a birdsong to the thunder of a summer evening, the dances of the harvest festival and the cold frosty wind. However, the inspiration was caught not only from the seasons, but from the four sonnets depicting the seasons. The author of these sonnets has remained a mystery, but most historians believe that Vivaldi wrote them himself. These sonnet texts have remained unknown to many, but Kentala Consort will introduce these texts during the concert. 

Kentala Consort, assembled by violin soloist Kreeta-Maria Kentala, consists of a concert-specific changing group of Kentala’s favourite musicians. In the concert of Vivaldi’s seasons, with authentic baroque instruments, we have violinists Kaisa Ruotsalainen and Alina Järvelä, viola player Laura Kajander, cellist Lea Pekkala, bassist Pontus Grans, archlutist and guitarist Eero Palviainen and harpsichordist Tea Polso.  

Duration 60 min, no intermission. 

Espoo Cathedral
Kirkkopuisto 5, Espoo


Concert in Espoo Cathedral + Dinner in Backby Manson -package:

Organ Night and Aria Festival and Backby Manor organize mesmerizing dinner and concert evenings in the summer in Espoo. Come and enjoy the tasty dinner menu and a wonderful concert during an unforgettable evening!

Dinner & concert -package includes:
Changing dinner menu at Backby Manor at 6 pm.
Organ Night and Aaria Festival concert at Espoo Cathedral at 9 pm.
Total price of the package: 120 € / person

Read more and make a reservation: Dinner+Concert -package



Antonio Vivaldi (1678–1741):
Conserto in C Major, RV 114:
I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Ciaccona (Allegro ma non troppo) 

Le guattro stagioni – Four seasons
soloist Crete-Maria Kentala 

Concerto No 1 in E Major Op. 8, RV 269 La Primavera – Kevät
I. Allegro
II. Largo e pianissimo sempre
III. Pastoral dance: Allegro  

Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 8. RV 315 L’Estate – Summer

I. Allegro non molto – Allegro
II. Adagio -Presto-Adagio
III. Soon 

Concerto No. 3 in F major, Op. 8, RV 293 L ́Autunno – Autumn

I. Allegro II. Adagio molto
III. Allegro  

Konsertto No. 4 in F Minor, Op. 8, RV 297 L ́Inverno – Winter
I. Allegro non molto
II. Largo
III. Cheerful